History of the Gamma Mu Lambda Chapter (ΓΜΛ)

The Gamma Mu Lambda (ΓΜΛ) Chapter has a rich history in Leon County, Tallahassee, and in the State of Florida. The Gamma Mu Lambda Chapter was chartered on March 4th, 1946 in the capital city of Tallahassee, Florida to bring a "brighter light" and hope to this region of our great state.

Since that time and until the present, the Gamma Mu Lambda Chapter boasts a long list of great members, many of whom have entered into Omega Chapter.

The prominent men of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. have mixed the fine ingredients of conservatism and scholarship to bring about the finest individuals in the world. Lastly, over the years, this great chapter has served as a lighthouse for those who could not see a brighter future and as a footstool for those who needed uplifting.

We are proud to have celebrated seventy(71) years of service, dedication, brotherhood, and scholarship in this area.

"Alpha Phi Alpha is Truly the Pride of Our Hearts..."

We pay tribute to our Charter Members: Moses G. Miles, L.H.B. Foote, Robert "Pete" Griffin, T.J. Perry, Sr., E.E. Ware, Sr., Samuel Howell, William H. Gray, Jr., Wilmoth H. Baker, Sr., Clifton Jones, Richard Dunn, William Morris, Jr., and A.W. Wright;

And to those who were instrumental in the development of our House in Tallahassee, Florida.

Brother Dr. C.U. Smith
Gamma Mu Lambda Chapter (ΓΜΛ)
Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.


Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc - Southern Region Website
Florida Federation of Alpha Chapters Website